Cappers Farm

Cappers Farm Tottenham Court Road

Capper’s Farm was a 17th-century farmhouse behind Heal’s on Tottenham Court Road where some of the Heal’s employees lived. The farmhouse was known as Capper’s Farm from Christopher Capper who was farming the surrounding property as early as 1693. His widow died in 1739, and his daughters, Esther Capper, and Mary Booth were in occupation until 1768.

“The bedrooms were furnished with 2ft 6in iron bedsteads with spiral spring bottoms, Heal’s mattresses, pillows, etc, and each occupant had a chest of drawers with a mirror, a pottery toilet set and a candlestick, with one candle per week. There was no other lighting or heating,” remembers Leonard Thoday in an account of his time as a Heal’s employee. He joined the firm in 1910 and lodged with other workers on the farm.

“Breakfast was served at 8am, after which we were due in our offices at 8.30am. Lunch was served in two sittings, consisting of a joint with vegetables and a sweet. The shop closed at 7.30pm. Those who ‘lived in’ went to our rooms after finishing work, then we went down to the dining room.

“Nine nights out of 10 there was bread and cheese, and a glass of beer for supper. This was the worst meal of the day and was often disposited in the piano, which made a good hiding place for it.”

In 1913, the house was pulled down to make way for a new Heal’s bedding factory and other buildings.

Discover more about our heritage here.

Cappers Farm Tottenham Court Road London


Leave a Reply